Возврат на главную страницу Возврат на главную страницу Возврат на главную страницу Возврат на главную страницу Возврат на главную страницу
The subject index / Necropolis of the18th Century

Necropolis of the18th Century

Categories / Science. Education/Museums
Categories / Architecture/Cemeteries (see also Municipal Economy)

NECROPOLIS OF THE 18TH CENTURY (before 1939, the Lazarevskoe Cemetery), memorial necropolis, part of the City Sculpture Museum (from 1932) on the territory of the Alexander Nevsky Lavra. Its square takes up 0.7 hectares. Many of Peter the Great's associates were buried there in the late 1710s, including Field Marshal B.P. Sheremetev, General A. Weide, and Court Physician R. Areskin. Originally, burials took place at the wooden Holy Annunciation Church (1713, rebuilt in the 1750s, torn down in 1789) and the Lazarevskaya Burial Vault (hence the former cemetery name). Among those buried at the necropolis are academics M.V. Lomonosov, L. Euler, V.E. Adodurov and S.P. Krasheninnikov; Admiral V.Y. Chichagov; playwrights D.I. Fonvizin and Y.B. Knyazhnin; architects I.E. Starov, A.N. Voronikhin, G. Quarenghi, J.F. Thoma de Thomon, A.D. Zakharov and K.I. Rossi; military engineer A.A. Bethencourt; statesmen A.S. Stroganov, N.S. Mordvinov, M.N. Muravyev and S.Y. Witte; and members of many noble families, including Beloselsky-Belozersky, Trubetskoy and Volkonsky families of princes, the Naryshkin noble family, the former merchant family of the Demidov, and the Yakovlev, et al. Alexander Pushkin's widow, N.N. Lanskaya (1812-63), was buried in the north section of the necropolis. The necropolis came under the responsibility of the St. Petersburg Society in 1922, and was named a memorial necropolis in 1932. Its first guardian was historian N.V. Uspensky. Over a thousand gravestones have been preserved, including ones made by I.P. Martos, M.I. Kozlovsky, V.I. Demut-Malinovsky, Voronikhin, F.P. Tolstoy, and other masters.

Reference: see The City Sculpture Museum and Alexander-Nevsky Lavra.

Y. M. Piryutko.

Adodurov Vasily Evdokimovich
Areskin Robert
Bethencourt Avgustin Avgustinovich
Chichagov Vasily Yakovlevich
Demut-Malinovsky Vasily Ivanovich
Euler Leonhard
Fonvizin Denis Ivanovich
KnyazhninYakov Borisovich
Kozlovsky Mikhail Ivanovich
Krasheninnikov Stepan Petrovich
Lanskaya N.N. (see Pushkina Natalia Nikolaevna)
Lomonosov Mikhail Vasilievich
Martos Ivan Petrovich
Mordvinov Nikolay Semenovich, Count
Muravyev Mikhail Nikolaevich
Peter I, Emperor
Pushkin Alexander Sergeevich
Quarenghi Giacomo
Rossi Carl Ivanovich (Carlo Giovanni)
Sheremetev Boris Petrovich, Count
Starov Ivan Egorovich
Stroganov Alexander Sergeevich, Count
the Beloselsky-Belozerskys
the Demidovs
the Naryshkins
the Trubetskoys
the Volkonskys, Dukes
the Yakovlevs
Thomas de Thomon Jean-Francois
Tolstoy Fedor Petrovich
Uspensky Nikolay Viktorovich
Voronikhin Andrey Nikiforovich
Weide Adam
Witte Sergey Yulievich, Count
Zakharov Andreyan (Adrian) Dmitrievich

см. при ст. Городской скульптуры музей и Александро-Невская лавра.

The subject Index
Museum of City Sculpture
Alexander Nevsky Lavra
Lazarevskaya Burial Vault