Возврат на главную страницу Возврат на главную страницу Возврат на главную страницу Возврат на главную страницу Возврат на главную страницу
Entries / Holy Resurrection Cathedral, (Spas-na-Krovi)

Holy Resurrection Cathedral, (Spas-na-Krovi)

Categories / Architecture/Architectural Monuments/Religious Architecture (see also Religion.Church)
Categories / Religion. Church/Places of Worship (see also Architecture and Urban Planning)

HOLY RESURRECTION CATHEDRAL, (SPAS-NA-KROVI "Church of Our Saviour on the Blood", located at 2a Griboedova Canal Embankment, a church constructed in 1883-1907 (architects A. A. Parland, Archimandrite Ignaty) on the site, where Emperor Alexander II was mortally wounded (see March 1, 1881), hence the common name of the church – "Saviour on the blood". The construction was financed by state grants and private donations. The design of the nine-dome building that could hold up to 1,600 people followed that of 16th-17th centuries Moscow churches, it is noted for its complex and picturesque silhouette and rich mosaic decor. The mosaics were done in the workshop of A. A. and V. A. Frolov to the drawings of V. M. Vasnetsov, M. V. Nesterov, N. A. Koshelev, V. V. Belyaev, N. E. Kharlamov, A. P. Ryabushkin, and others. The marble iconostasis was made in the workshop of G. Novi in Genoa, mosaic icons were made according to the drawings by V. M. Vasnetsov. The ciborium above the place of assassination was made of jasper at stone factories of Ekaterinburg and Peterhof, silver church plates were delivered by Khlebnikov Company. Memorial plaques, detailing the "Great Reforms" of the 1860-70s, were placed on exterior walls. The wrought railing was installed on the east side; on the north side a sacristy chapel of St. Alexander Nevsky was built. In 1923, the church acquired the status of a cathedral, in 1930 it was closed, in 1934-35 the building housed the exhibition dedicated to People's Will Organisation, then the building was used as a service block. In 1970, it was handed over to St Isaac's Cathedral Museum. From 1973 to 1998, restoration was carried out. Today the church functions as a museum.

References: Кириков Б. М. Храм Воскресения Христова: (К истории "рус. стиля" в Петербурге) // Невский архив: Ист.-краевед. сб. М.; СПб., 1993. [Вып. 1]. С. 204-245; Трубинов Ю. В. Храм Воскресения Христова (Спас на крови). СПб., 1997.

V. V. Antonov.

Alexander II, Emperor
Alexander Nevsky, Duke
Belyaev Vasily Vasilievich
Frolov Alexander Alexandrovich
Frolov Vladimir Alexandrovich
Ignaty (Ivan Vasilievich Malyshev)
Kharlamov N.N.
Khlebnikov I.P.
Koshelev Nikolay Andreevich
Nesterov Mikhail Vasilievich
Novi G.
Parland Alfred Alexandrovich
Ryabushkin Andrey Petrovich
Vasnetsov Viktor Mikhailovich

Griboedova Canal Embankment/Saint Petersburg, city, house 2, litera л. А

Кириков Б. М. Храм Воскресения Христова: (К истории "рус. стиля" в Петербурге) // Невский архив: Ист.-краевед. сб. М.; СПб., 1993
Трубинов Ю. В. Храм Воскресения Христова (Спас на крови). СПб., 1997

The subject Index
First of March, 1881
Narodnaya Volya
St. Isaac's Cathedral


Alexander II , Emperor (1818-1881)

ALEXANDER II (1818-1881, St. Petersburg), Emperor (since 1855). He was a son of Emperor Nicholas I and Empress Alexandra Fedorovna. Tsarevitch (from 1831), General of Infantry (1847), Honorary Member of the Petersburg Academy of Sciences (1826)

Anthony (Vadkovsky) (1846-1912), Metropolitan of St. Petersburg and Ladoga 1898-1912

ANTHONY (lay name Alexander Vasilievich Vadkovsky) (1846-1912, St. Petersburg ), Church figure, honorary member of the St. Petersburg Academy of Sciences (1899)

Artillery Bombardments of 1941-44

ARTILLERY BOMBARDMENTS OF 1941-44, conducted by long-range German artillery in order to destroy Leningrad's industrial and military facilities, and to spread panic among its population during the siege of 1941-1944

First of March, 1881

FIRST OF MARCH 1881, the day Emperor Alexander II was assassinated, prepared and accomplished by the party People's Will. The plan included exploding the Emperor's carriage on its way to the Mikhailovsky Manege

Griboyedova Canal

GRIBOYEDOVA CANAL (the Ekaterininsky Canal in 1767-1923) starts from the Moika River at the Field of Mars and flows into the Fontanka River at Malo-Kalinkin Bridge. It is 5 km long and 32 meters wide with water flow of 3.1 - 3.4 m3

Grilles (entry)

GRILLES. St. Petersburg boasts a number of unique metal grilles, created in the course of three centuries. Wrought grilles of bars with (sometimes gilded) decorative figures made from flat iron bars (the grille of the Ekaterininsky (Catherine)

Holy Resurrection Church

HOLY RESURRECTION CHURCH, located at 116 Obvodny Canal Embankment, an architectural monument. The church was commissioned by Society for Religious and Moral Education, constructed in 1904-08 to the designs of architect G. D

Ignaty (Malyshev) (1811-1897), Archimandrite

IGNATY (born Ivan Vasilievich Malyshev) (1811-1897, Holy Trinity and St. Sergius Hermitage), Archimandrite. In 1823, Ignaty was brought to St. Petersburg where he worked as an errand-boy, then as a salesclerk

Konyushennaya Square

KONYUSHENNAYA SQUARE is located between Konyushenny Lane and Griboedova Canal, and was laid out beginning in the 1720s and over the course of the Stables Department's construction of its buildings complex (house No 1, 1720-23, architect N. F

Leningrad Metallurgic Plant (LMP)

LENINGRAD METALLURGIC PLANT (LMP) (18 Sverdlovskaya Embankment), open joint-stock company, the largest pipe-building enterprise of the country. It was founded in 1857 by merchant S.N. Rasteryaev, St

Mikhailovsky Garden

MIKHAILOVSKY GARDEN is a landscape architectural monument from the first third of the 19th century. It is a city garden with an area of 8.7 hectares confined on one side by Mikhailovsky Palace, Griboedova Canal Embankment

Petrodvortsovy Watch Factory

PETRODVORTSOVY WATCH FACTORY (Peterhof, 60 Sankt-Peterburgsky Avenue), originated from a marble workshop opened in 1721 and reorganised into a lapidary factory in 1801 to make handcrafted articles of precious and semi-precious stones

Restoration Workshops and Organizations

RESTORATION WORKSHOPS AND ORGANIZATIONS. Restoration work in St. Petersburg has developed since the end of the 19th century. The reconstruction of historical and cultural monuments was first considered by the Imperial Archaeological Commission

Zinoviev A.D. (1854-1931), Civilian Governor

ZINOVIEV Alexander Dmitrievich (1854-1931), statesman, Secret Counsellor (1906). He graduated from the Faculty of Law of St. Petersburg University (1877). In 1884-97, he served as an elector from the nobility in St. Petersburg Region