Возврат на главную страницу Возврат на главную страницу Возврат на главную страницу Возврат на главную страницу Возврат на главную страницу
Entries / Dramatic Theatre on Liteiny

Dramatic Theatre on Liteiny

Categories / Art/Music, Theatre/Theaters, Concert Organizations

DRAMATIC THEATRE ON LITEINY, Regional (51 Liteiny Avenue) was the Drama and Comedy Theatre before1990. It was first opened in 1945 as the Youth Theatre Studio under the guidance of Alexander Wiener, but had no premises. Since the building’s post-War renovation in 1957 it has been located at the present-day address. As a regional theatre, its most performances take place outside Petersburg. The prime of the theatre started with the appointment of Yakov Khamarmer (1966-86) as its main director and invitation of young talented directors Evgeny Shiffers (Mykola Kulish's Maklena Grasa and Alexander Kron's The Party's Candidate, 1965), Efim Padve (Alexander Vampilov's A Meeting in the Countryside, 1970; Boris Vasilyev's Happy Way,1971; Tennessee Williams's A Streetcar Named Desire, 1972; Maxim Gorky's Eccentrics, 1973); Lev Dodin (Gerhard Hauptmann's Rosa Berndt, 1975; Denis Fonvizin's The Minor, 1977), Kama Ginkas (Maxim Gorky's The Last, 1968; Rustam Ibragimbekov's Looking Like a Lion, 1974; Tennessee Williams's Beauty Is the World, 1978) and theatre designer Eduard Kochergin. In 1986-89 Vadim Golikov was appointed main director of the theatre (Mikhail Roshchin's Repair; Iredynsky's Farewell, Judas!..; Stanislav Lem's Solaris). In 1990-94, the theatre was led by Gennady Trostyanetsky (Moliere's The Miser, Shakespeare's King Lear, Carlo Gozzi's The Raven, Henrik Ibsen's Ghost). In the last ten years, the theatre runs without a main director, but continues to count on leading Petersburg directors involving Yury Dvorkin, Alexander Galibin, Yury Mamin, Vladislav Pazi, Klim ( Vladimir Klimenko), Yury Butusov, G.L. Vasilyev, Vladimir Tumanov, Grigory Kozlov, Roman Smirnov, and Grigory Dityatkovsky. The theatre held retrospective festivals of the best performances directed by Kama Ginkas (1991), Anatoly Efros (1992), Peter Fomenko (1994), and Vladimir Fokin (1996). Viktor Kramer's troupe Farsy was established in this theatre. From 2002, the Liteiny Theatre has been implementing The Liteiny Theatre Studio project to provide young directors with a debut opportunity. At different times, the theatre troupe has involved many prominent members: I.A. Makeev, Tatyana Shchuko, Tatyana Tarasova, Yulian Panich, Viktor Kharitonov, Ivan Krasko, Evgeny Merkuryev, Z.A. Kvyatkovskaya, Kirill Dateshidze, N.B. Baytalskaya, Vadim Ermolaev, Tatyana Tkach, Elena Nemzer, Lev Kubarev, Semen Furman, Alexander Lykov, Vladimir Zakharov, Mikhail Razumovsky, Alexey Devotchenko, Alexander Bargman, Sergey Dreyden, Viktor Sukhorukov, Valery Kukhareshin, Olga Samoshina, and Leonid Osokin. In 1998 Alexander Getman was appointed artistic director of the Theatre. The theatre building was reconstructed in 1870, as it used to be Counts Sheremetev’s riding school (architect Alexey Serebryakov, reconstructed in 1905). The theatre premises were renovated for the Liteiny Theatre in 1909 (from 1912 the Mozayka Theatre and from 1913 the Liteiny Intimny Theatre). In 1918 it became the Theatre of Artistic Drama which was reformed into the Theatre Studio in 1919. In 1926-28 the building housed the Travelling Theatre of P.P. Gaydeburov and N.F. Skarskaya, in 1928-31 - the Theatre of Working Youth (TRAM), in 1931-32 - the First Proletkult Working Theatre, from 1932 to the beginning of the Great Patriotic War - the Theatre of the Leningrad Regional Trade Unions (LOSPS).

Reference: Литейный, 51 // Театр. 2000. № 1. С. 38-51.

A. A. Kirillov.

Bargman Alexander Lvovich
Baytalskaya N.B.
Butusov Yury Nikolaevich
Dateshidze Kirill Leonidovich
Devotchenko Alexey Valerievich
Dityatkovsky Grigory Isaakovich
Dodin Lev Abramovich
Dreyden Sergey Simonovich
Dvorkin Yu.B.
Efros Anatoly Vasilievich
Ermolaev Vadim S.
Fokin Valery Vladimirovich
Fomenko Peter Naumovich
Fonvizin Denis Ivanovich
Furman Semen Alexandrovich
Galibin Alexander Vladimirovich
Gaydeburov Pavel Pavlovich
Getman Alexander Vladimirovich
Ginkas Kama Mironovich
Golikov Vadim Sergeevich
Gorky Maxim (Alexey Maximovich Peshkov)
Gozzi Carlo
Hauptmann Gerhard
Ibragimbekov Rustam Mamed Ibragim ogly
Ibsen Henrik
Iredynsky I.
Khamarmer Yakov Semenovich
Kharitonov Viktor V.
Klimenko Vladimir Alexeevich
Kochergin Eduard Stepanovich
Kozlov Ivan Ivanovich
Kramer Viktor Moiseevich
Krasko Ivan Ivanovich
Kron Alexander Alexandrovich
Kubarev Lev A.
Kukhareshin Valery Alexandrovich
Kulish Mikola (Nikolay Gurievich)
Kvyatkovskaya Z.A.
Lem Stanislav
Lykov Alexander Anatolievich
Makeev I.A.
Mamin Yury Borisovich
Merkuryev Evgeny Petrovich
Moliere Jean-Baptiste
Nemzer Elena Yakovlevna
Osokin Leonid Alexandrovich
Padve Efim Mikhailovich
Panich Yulian Alexandrovich
Pazi Vladislav Borisovich
Razumovsky Mikhail Vitalievich
Roshchin Mikhail Mikhailovich
Samoshina Olga Borisovna
Serebryakov Alexsey Konstantinovich
Shakespeare William
Shchuko Tatyana Vladimirovna
Shiffers Evgeny Lvovich
Skarskaya Nadezhda Fedorovna
Smirnov Roman Vladimirovich
Sukhorukov Viktor Ivanovich
Tarasova Tatyana Alexeevna
the Sheremetevs
Tkach Tatyana Dmitrievna
Trostyanetsky Gennady Rafailovich
Tumanov Vladimir Anatolievich
Vampilov Alexander Valentinovich
Vasilyev Boris Lvovich
Vasilyev G.L.
Wiener Alexander Borisovich
Williams Tennessee
Zakharov Vladimir Grigorievich

Liteiny Ave/Saint Petersburg, city, house 51

Литейный, 51 // Театр, 2000

Drama Theatre (entry)

DRAMA THEATRE. The performances of the theatre of Tsar Peter the Great's sister, Tsarevna Natalia Alexeevna (from 1714) can be considered as the first attempts to establish a standing public theatre in St. Petersburg

Gorbachev I. O. (1927-2003), actor, director

GORBACHEV Igor Olegovich (1927-2003), actor, director, People's Artist of the USSR (1972), Hero of Socialist Labour (1987). In 1945, he enrolled at the Philosophy Department of the Leningrad State University

Merkuryev V.V., (1904-1978), actor

MERKURYEV Vasily Vasilievich (1904-1978, Leningrad), actor, People's Artist of the USSR (1960). His stage career started in 1920 in the town of Ostrov. Upon graduating from the Leningrad Dramatics College (1926; today Academy of Dramatic Arts)

Rakhlin I.Y. (1922-2002), stage director

RAKHLIN Ilya Yakovlevich (1922-2002, St. Petersburg), director, actor, People's Artist of the Russian Soviet Federative Socialist Republic (1984), Honoured Worker of the Arts of Kazakhstan (1951) and Northern Osetia (1965)